WUPPDR FULL COMMISSION MEETING

Western U.P. Planning and Development Region

Parkview Lodge & Grill, Twin Lakes, MI Monday, December 18, 2023 5:00 PM (ET)

NAME	Present, voting	Present, non-voting	Absent
Joe Bonovetz, Chair, Gogebic County	X		
Patti Peretto, 1 st V.C., Iron County			Χ
James Vivian, Jr., 2 nd Vice Chair, Keweenaw County			Х
William Menge, Secretary, Baraga County	Х		
Tom Tikkanen, Treasurer, Houghton County			Х
Robert Nousiainen, Member, Ontonagon County	Х		
Glenn Anderson, Houghton County	X		
Paul Anderson, City of Ironwood	X		
Mary Babcock, City of Hancock (Alt.)			Х
Tracey Barrette, Village of L'Anse			X
Ron Blau, City of Hancock			X
Roy Britz, Houghton County (E.C. Alt.)			Х
Robert Brown, City of Wakefield	Х		
Pam Coey, Village of Ontonagon (Alt.)			Х
Jan Cole, City of Houghton	X		
Robert DeMarois, Keweenaw County (E.C. Alt.)	Х		
Gale Eilola, Baraga County (E.C. Alt.)	Х		
Tim Gasperich, Calumet Township (Alt.)	Х		
Zach Hautala, Iron County	X		
Gretchen Janssen, Houghton County			Х
Joel Keranen, Houghton County			Х
Robert LaFave, Village of L'Anse	Х		
Jim Lorenson, Gogebic County (E.C. Alt.)			Х
Bruce Petersen, Portage Charter Township			Х
Paul Putnam, MSU Extension (ex officio)			Х
Jeff Ratcliffe, KEDA (ex officio)		Х	
Mike Rebholtz, Village of Ontonagon	Х		
Mike Stafford, Iron County (E.C. Alt.)	Χ		
Ron Store, Ontonagon County (E.C. Alt.)	Х		
Dave Yeo, Calumet Charter Township			
MaryEllen Hyttinen, Office Mgr., WUPPDR			
Jerald Wuorenmaa, Exec. Director, WUPPDR			
Lisa McKenzie, Regional Planner, WUPPDR			
Michael Stanitis, Asst. Regional Planner, WUPPDR			
Guest: Greg Markkanen, Michigan State Represer	itative		

Call to order: Joe Bonovetz, Chairperson, called the meeting to order at 5:02 PM (ET)

<u>Pledge of Allegiance</u>: The Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag was spoken.

Member roll call: The following commissioners responded to roll call done by Hyttinen.

Glenn Anderson, Paul Anderson, Jan Cole, Robet DeMarois, Gale Eilola, Tim Gasperich, Zach Hautala, Robert LaFave, Bill Menge, Robert Nousiainen, Jeff Ratcliffe, Mike Rebholz, Mike Stafford, Ron Store, Joe Bonovetz.

Approval of agenda: Moved by Eilola, supported by LaFave to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried.

<u>Approval of minutes (September 18, 2023)</u>: Moved by Nousiainen, supported by Menge to approve the minutes with correction, and place on file. Motion carried.

<u>Approval of bills paid</u>: Moved by Stafford, supported by LaFave to approve the bills paid as presented from September 1, 2023 – November 30, 2023, totaling \$264,166.16. <u>Roll Call Vote</u>: **Ayes**: Glenn Anderson, Jan Cole, Robert DeMarois, Gale Eilola, Tim Gasperich, Zach Hautala, Robert LaFave, Bill Menge, Robert Nousiainen, Mike Rebholz, Mike Stafford, Ron Store, Joe Bonovetz. **Nays**: None. <u>Motion carried</u>.

<u>Public appearances</u>: Michigan State Representative Greg Markkanen gave updates on numerous items happening in the Upper Peninsula.

<u>Acceptance of new member governments</u>: Cities of Ironwood and Wakefield: Moved by Glenn Anderson, supported by LaFave to accept the Cities of Ironwood and Wakefield as new member governments. <u>Motion carried</u>.

Program updates:

- a. Materials management Wuorenmaa updated the commission on materials management planning.
- b. Regional Housing partnership McKenzie updated the commission on the Regional Housing partnership.
- c. Policy Academy Final presentation by Michigan team in virtual meeting on February 8, 2024

<u>Update on commissioner appointment process:</u> Bonovetz explained there has been some discussion about the need to have the commissioner appointments align with the rules and bylaws. At the county level the county chairperson appoints the members, but the bylaws require that the county board appoints them. He informed the commission that this is being worked on since the current appointments are a 2-year term but county boards will be moving to 4-year terms. The revisions will be created and brought before the full commission to review and approve changes to the bylaws.

2024 Meeting Schedule: Bonovetz informed the Commission the Executive Committee has been talking about eliminating the Executive Committee meetings on the days of the Full Commission meetings. More will be discussed at the Executive Committee meeting in February. Moved by LaFave, supported by Eilola to approve the 2024 Meeting Schedule as presented. Motion carried.

<u>Other business</u>: Wuorenmaa thanked the two new member governments for their interest and agreeing to join the WUPPDR Commission team.

Bonovetz thanked Representative Markkanen for his attendance and information.

Hyttinen informed the commission of Paul Lehto's status at the Omega House and encouraged anyone to stop by to see him.

Adjourn: Moved by Eilola, supported by Anderson that the meeting adjourn at 5:50 PM (ET). Motion carried.

V	/illiam Men	ige, Secreta	ry