## WUPPDR EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING

Western U.P. Planning and Development Region

## Monday, February 19, 2024 4:15 PM (ET) Via Zoom Audio/Videoconference

NAME	Present,	Present,	Absent
	voting	non-voting	
Joe Bonovetz, Chair, Gogebic County	Х		
Patti Peretto, 1 <sup>st</sup> V.C., Iron County	Χ		
Robert DeMarois., 2 <sup>nd</sup> Vice Chair Alternate, Keweenaw	Х		
County			
William Menge, Secretary, Baraga County	Х		
Tom Tikkanen, Treasurer, Houghton County			Х
Robert Nousiainen, Member, Ontonagon County	Х		
MaryEllen Hyttinen, Office Manager, WUPPDR			
Jerald Wuorenmaa, Executive Director, WUPPDR			

Call to Order: Joe Bonovetz, Chairperson, called the meeting to order at 4:15 PM (ET)

<u>Pledge of Allegiance</u>: The Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag was spoken.

<u>Member Roll Call</u>: The following commissioners responded to roll call done by Hyttinen. Patti Peretto, Robert DeMarois, William Menge, Robert Nousiainen, and Joe Bonovetz.

<u>Approval of Agenda</u>: Moved by Menge, supported by DeMarois to approve the agenda as presented. <u>Motion</u> carried.

<u>Approval of Minutes - (December 18, 2023)</u>: Moved by DeMarois, supported by Peretto to approve the minutes as presented. <u>Motion carried</u>.

<u>Approval of Bills Paid (December 1, 2023 – January 31, 2024)</u>: Moved by Peretto, supported by Nousiainen to approve the bills paid as presented, totaling \$149,545.28. <u>Roll Call Vote</u>: **Ayes**: Peretto, DeMarois, Menge, Nousiainen, Bonovetz. **Nays**: None. <u>Motion carried</u>.

Public Appearances: None

## Materials management planning discussion

- a. Preparatory work Wuorenmaa informed the commission the 180-day clock is ticking for various specifications EGLE wants from each county. Wuorenmaa has created a sample resolution that would establish the items requested by EGLE for the counties to address what EGLE is looking for regarding the six-county plan.
- b. EGLE workgroup Q&A web meeting Feb. 28, 12:30 ET: Wuorenmaa strongly encourages the counties to find someone to attend this session. Wuorenmaa will send the sign-up information to county clerks and the Executive committee.

Other Director's updates: Wuorenmaa provided information on other currently active projects.

<u>County member dues increase</u>: Moved by Menge, supported by Nousiainen to approve the County member dues increase by 25% effective January 1, 2024. <u>Roll Call Vote</u>: **Ayes**: Peretto, Menge, Nousiainen, DeMarois, Bonovetz. **Nays**: None. Motion carried.

<u>Draft Resolution of Commitment of continuation of Policy Academy outcomes (informational)</u>: Wuorenmaa notified the committee about the Policy Academy technical assistance program that WUPPDR worked on with MEDC and the other U.P. regions will need a resolution to verify WUPPDR's ongoing commitment. The resolution will be presented to the Full Commission at the March meeting.

<u>Personnel matter: Hyttinen accrued annual leave (vacation) excess</u>: Moved by DeMarois, supported by Peretto to grant an exception of the limit on annual vacation accrual for MaryEllen in this circumstance. Motion carried.

<u>Potential Bylaws and policy amendments</u>: Wuorenmaa explained changes that would be needed to the Bylaws to effect changes to meeting schedules and commissioner appointments, as well as a proposed change to the Personnel Policy regarding holidays.

- a. Executive Committee meeting (frequency and scheduling): Full Commission and Executive Committee shall meet at the same when the meeting schedule calls for both. Meetings shall be changed to four Executive and four Full Commission meetings within the year.
- b. Commissioner appointments Wuorenmaa questioned who must appoint the WUPPDR commission members. Bonovetz commented that he thought the county board chair makes committee appointments in Michigan.
- c. Paid holidays Moved by Peretto, supported by DeMarois to allow employees to select which holidays they would like to use as their 13 days allowance. Motion carried.

Wuorenmaa would prepare Bylaws amendments for the Full Commission to consider.

her Business: None
ljourn: Moved by Menge, supported by Peretto that the meeting adjourn at 4:57 PM (ET). Motion carried.
William Menge, Secretary