Meeting Minutes – October 9, 2023

Houghton County Recreation Authority

WUPPDR, 400 Quincy St 8th Floor, Hancock, MI

I. Call to order

The meeting was called to order at 1:35 pm.

II. Roll call

Tim Gasperich, Chairperson, performed roll call:

Members present:

- o Tim Gasperich, Calumet Charter Township
- Jeff Ratcliffe, KEDA
- Craig Hughes, Nonmotorized Interests
- Mary Sears, Franklin Township
- Mark Halkola, Osceola Twp
- o Eric Waara, City of Houghton
- Glenn Anderson, Houghton County
- o Andrew Ranville, Village of Calumet

• Members absent:

- o Brad Barnett, Visit Keweenaw (via video)
- Mandy Lounibos, City of Hancock
- o Bruce Peterson, Portage Charter Twp
- Jerald Wuorenmaa, WUPPDR (via video)

• Others present:

- o Ron Yesney, DNR (via video)
- Keith Meyers, Chassell Township (became member where noted in minutes)
- o Chad VanBennekom, Keweenaw Trails Services
- Kaitlin Lapka (via video)

III. Approval of agenda

Jeff Ratcliffe moved to approve the agenda as amended, supported by Mary Sears. <u>All in favor;</u> motion carried.

IV. Approval of minutes (July 10, 2023)

Ratcliffe moved to approve the agenda, supported by Andrew Ranville. <u>All in favor; motion carried</u>.

V. Amendment to Articles of Incorporation to admit Chassell Township as member

Ranville moved to adopt the amendment (attached), supported by Ratcliffe. <u>All in favor; motion</u> carried.

Keith Meyers began participation as board member representing Chassell Township.

VI. DNR/trails update

Roy Yesney provided updates regarding the Lake Linden Grade snowmobile trail, Houghton to Chassell nonmotorized trail, Freda Grade/Loop snowmobile trail, and Bill Nichols multiuse trail.

VII. Keweenaw Trails Services update

Chad VanBennekom of Keweenaw Trails Services provided an update regarding its facilities.

VIII. Member updates

Meyers reported on Chassell Township recreation initiatives.

IX. Other business

VanBennekom indicated interest in being nominated as the board member representing motorized recreation; this will be added to the next meeting agenda.

X. Public comment (three-minute limit)

None

XI. Adjourn

Mark Halkola moved to adjourn, supported by Ranville. All in favor; motion carried.